At Aga Khan Early Learning Centre, we follow the UK curriculum called Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

We provide a broad and balanced curriculum which ensures that children establish a solid foundation of knowledge, skills and understanding upon which they can build throughout their lives.

All children are respected, valued and nurtured. Children are offered activities that are free from prejudice and discrimination. All programme materials (toys, books, dress up clothes) are reflective of the rich diversity of the communities served.

The EYFS Areas of Learning

There are seven areas of learning and development that we need to develop. Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are essential for healthy development and future learning:

Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

A model of the High Scope approach is integrated in our curriculum offering children opportunities to express their ideas and needs through a variety of planning and small group experiences (Plan-Do-Review).

This website uses cookies
Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site.
Some cookies have already been set. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site won't work without them.
By using our website you accept our use of cookies.
No, I want to find out more Yes, I agree